It looks like the Berkshires' two favorite baseball teams are well represented in the quest for Gold Glove awards.

Rawlings officially announced the finalists for the 2018 season, an award which recognizes the best defensive players in each position. The Red Sox lead the way in the American League with five positional finalists, while the Yankees have three players vying for awards.

For the American League champion Red Sox, first baseman Mitch Moreland, second baseman Ian Kinsler, left fielder Andrew Benintendi, center fielder Jackie Bradley Jr. and right fielder Mookie Betts are all in the running. Benintendi and JBJ will be looking for their first Gold Glove awards while Kinsler and Moreland are looking for their second. Betts, who is the front runner to win the AL MVP award, has a great chance to win his third straight Gold Glove. Boston will look to take a commanding 3-0 lead in the World Series when they take on the Dodgers in Los Angeles on Friday night.

For the Yankees, pitcher Masahiro Tanaka, left fielder Brett Gardner and right fielder Aaron Judge are vying for the awards. Tanaka and Judge are looking for their first trophies, while Gardner is looking for Gold Glove no. 2 for his mantel.

Here are the American League finalists. *The number of past Gold Glove awards for the player is in parentheses.


  • Dallas Keuchel, Astros (3)
  • Corey Kluber, Indians (0)
  • Masahiro Tanaka, Yankees (0)


  • Yan Gomes, Indians (0)
  • Martin Maldonado, Astros (1)
  • Salvador Perez, Royals (4)

First Base

  • Mitch Moreland, Red Sox (1)
  • Matt Olson, Athletics (0)
  • Justin Smoak, Blue Jays (0)

Second Base

  • Ian Kinsler, Red Sox (1)
  • Jed Lowrie, Athletics (0)
  • Rougned Odor, Rangers (0)


  • Francisco Lindor, Indians (1)
  • Marcus Semien, Athletics (0)
  • Andrelton Simmons, Angels (3)

Third Base

  • Alex Bregman, Astros (0)
  • Matt Chapman, Athletics (0)
  • Jose Ramirez, Indians (0)

Left Field

  • Andrew Benintendi, Red Sox (0)
  • Brett Gardner, Yankees (1)
  • Alex Gordon, Royals (5)

Center Field

  • Jackie Bradley Jr., Red Sox (0)
  • Adam Engel, White Sox (0)
  • Mike Trout, Angels (0)

Right Field

  • Mookie Betts, Red Sox (2)
  • Kole Calhoun, Angels (1)
  • Aaron Judge, Yankees (0)

The winners will be announced in November.

More From WBEC FM